Fleeing An Accident Scene Can Result In Serious Hit-And-Run Charges

Being involved in an automobile accident in Minnesota is no small matter, not only in relation to the personal and physical health of those involved, but also in regards to the consequential legal actions that may be taken against the individual at fault. If you are involved in a hit and run, it is crucial that you take the right course of action to safeguard yourself against receiving unjust legal outcomes.

When an vehicular accident occurs, the individual at fault has a legal obligation to stop their vehicle and, if they are able, return to the scene of the accident. The individual will be required to provide law enforcement with his or her name, address, date of birth, their driver's license and vehicle registration information.

If an individual has hit an unattended vehicle, the individual is obligated to inform the owner of the damaged vehicle of the situation or notify law enforcement.

When an individual fails to fulfill their obligation to stop upon after causing an automobile accident, he or she can be charged with the criminal vehicular crime of hit and run, which is a serious criminal offense in Minnesota.

In accordance with the Minnesota Statute Section 169.09, the charges that an individual will acquire in a hit and run case depends upon the damage caused in the accident.

  • In the event the accident causes the death of a driver and/or the passengers, a felony charge - along with a sentence of up to three years in jail and fine up to $5,000 - is in order.
    If the accident causes grievous bodily harm, the individual faces felony charges along with a potential sentence of up to two years in jail as well as fines up to $4,000. In this regard, it should be notes that 'grievous bodily harm' - according to the Minnesota Statute - is defined as any bodily injury that creates a high probability of death, causes serious permanent disfigurement or the loss of an organ or member.
    If the result of the accident is substantial bodily harm, or less, the individual is liable to face up to one year in prison and $3,000 in fines. Substantial bodily harm is defined as a serious albeit temporary disfigurement or loss of a member or a fracture.
    If so determined by the judge, the individual may also have their driver's license suspended for a certain period of time.

Contact An Attorney Immediately

If you have been charged with hit and run, it is critical that you contact a criminal defense attorney. The Law Offices of William J. Mauzy in Minneapolis can help. Our lawyer provides aggressive defense for people charged with hit and run. Call 612-444-9466.